Saturday, April 25, 2009

Junior's Eyes - Battersea Power Station (1967-69)


Junior's Eyes are one of the more well-known unknowns — if such an oxymoron can be applied — of the late-'60s British psychedelic scene. Most people who have seen any reference to them at all are apt to know them only as an act that served as David Bowie's backup group briefly in the late '60s. Mick Wayne, Junior's Eyes' lead guitarist and songwriter, played guitar on Bowie's "Space Oddity" and some of Bowie's other recordings. Prior to forming Junior's Eyes, he had briefly been in the Hullaballoos, a lightweight British Invasion band that had a bit of success in the States. He had also been in the Bunch of Fives with ex-Pretty Things drummer Viv Prince. As part of ... Read More...
Mick Wayne - guitar, vocal
Tim Renwick - guitar
John Lodge - bass
Graham Kelly - guitar
John Cambridge - drums
1 Total Power 1:11 2 Circus Days 3:42 3 Imagination 6:09 4 My Ship 2:47 5 Miss Lizzie 2:53 6 So Embarrassed 3:18 7 Freakin' 1:51 8 Playtime 3:55 9 I'm Drowning 1:25 10 White Light 6:38 11 By the Tree 5:02 12 Mr. Golden Trumpet Player 2:25 13 Blake Snake 2:39 14 Woman Love 2:39 15 Starchild 3:57 16 Sink or Swim 3:24 17 Circus Days (Single Version) 2:56 18 White Light (DEMO) 5:14 19 By The Tree (DEMO) 3:52 20 Imagination (DEMO) 3:46 21 Playtime (DEMO) 3:57 22 Subway (Smokey Pokey World) 2:39 23 Good Evening 2:37


Mick Wayne undoubtedly tried hard to be significant and progressive with his songs on Junior's Eyes' sole album. There were meter changes, skilled psychedelic hard rock guitar riffs, and moods both whimsical and cynical throughout. Although the predominant vibe was bluesy psych-prog, there were also quieter, more acoustic interludes. It doesn't add up to much without memorable hooks or vision, though, and the record fails to stick as a noteworthy effort, even by the standards of obscure late-'60s British psychedelia. If you disagree with that assessment, or in any case are still curious enough to track down this collectable release, the 2000 CD reissue on Castle couldn't possibly be a more thoughtful package. In addition to the songs from the original LP, it contains both sides of their three non-LP 1968-1969 singles, four demos of songs from Battersea Power Station, and both sides of the 1967 psych-pop single by the Tickle, Mick Wayne's previous band, along with very extensive historical liner notes. Aside from that Tickle single, the extra material doesn't contain anything too interesting, though a few of the 45 tracks are rather poppier in approach than most of the album. Unintentionally, no doubt, the Tickle gem "Subway (Smokey Pokey World)" blows everything else on the disc to smoke.

Part 1
спасибо Вадим !!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...