Sunday, July 5, 2009

Laghonia - Glue (1968) Peru

Laghonia was an important part of Peru's surprisingly fertile psychedelic/progressive rock scene during the late '60s and early '70s. Originally formed in 1965 as the New Juggler Sound, their initial lineup featured lead guitarist/vocalist Davey Levene, rhythm guitarist/vocalist Saul Cornejo, keyboardist Carlos Salom, bassist Eddy Zarauz, and drummer Alex Abad. At first they played British Invasion-style pop/rock, and released a few singles in this vein (including 1967's "Baby Baby" b/w "I Must Go"). As their style evolved, they became a harder-edged psychedelic garage band (think Nuggets) with touches of prog rock, soul, and blues-rock. Abad... Read More...
- Saul Cornejo / guitar, vocals
- Manuel Cornejo / drums
- Eddy Zaraus / bass
- David Levane / guitar, vocals
- Carlos Salom / keyboards
- Alex Abad / percussion 
Laghonia's debut album is a bit of a mish-mash of late-'60s styles, from the British invasion-like beat music of "Baby Baby" and "I Must Go" (which comprised the single they released as the New Juggler Sound in 1967) to heavy 1968-style psychedelic rock with hard guitar and organ riffs. There's also mellower prog-inflected pop-rock ("My Love"), soul-rock ("And I Saw Her Waiting") and son-of-Hendrix wailing ("Glue"). Sometimes you can make a pretty fair guess as to what discs these guys were wearing out: "Trouble Child," for instance, starts with a forceful variation of the Lovin' Spoonful's "Do You Believe in Magic?" riff, and ends with a guitar rave-up straight out of the Yardbirds' "I'm a Man." It's so zig-zaggy that you could mistake this for a various artists compilation. The standout, and the least derivative track, is "Bahia," which hits a nice Latin-tempoed psychedelic groove not too far removed from very early Santana, with fiery guitar from Davey Levene. Originally pressed in a small edition of 300, it was reissued on CD in 1997. 
1. Baby, Baby (1:50)
2. I Must Go (2:58)
3. Neighbor (3:23)
4. The Sand Man (3:27)
5. Billy Morsa (4:19)
6. Trouble Child (2:51)
7. My Love (4:52)
8. And I Saw Her Walking (3:22)
9. Glue (3:17)
10. Bahia (4:24)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...