Thursday, July 30, 2009

The Motions - Impressions Of Wonderful (1965 - 1967) Netherland

The Motions from The Hague were one of the bigger groups of the 1960s Dutch beat explosion. They were formed out of the remnants of Ritchie Clark and the Ricochets in 1964 and went on to become hitmakers for the next several years in the '60s. The Motions were much loved abroad, even in the USA. The Walker Brothers even recorded a song The Motions had written and helped in the production of the group's second LP; The Motions were also brought to the USA in 1968 and presented to the public as one of the world's top hit-making pop groups! The single, "Freedom", reached high in the American charts.

Although the group disbanded in 1971, the most imporant members have met each other again and again in new groups such as Crossroad, Greenhorn, Jupiter and Galaxy Lin.

From 1964 till 1967, the line-up remained the same: Rudy Bennett (i.r.l. Ruud van de Berg - vocals, earlier as Ritchie Clark and the Ricochets), Robbie van Leeuwen (guitar, ex-Atmospheres & Ricochets, later the founder of both Shocking Blue and Galaxy Lin), Henk Smitskamp (bass, ex-Willy & Giants, later to Livin' Blues) & Sieb Warner (drums, ex-Ricochets, later to Golden Earrings).

In 1967, Robbie left to form Shocking Blue and was replaced by Leo Bennink (ex-Mack); Henk was replaced by Gerard Romeyn (ex-Tee-Set, later with Nico Haak, Image), who, in turn, was replaced by Paul van Melzen (ex-Haigs, later in the Mailer McKenzie Band) after just six months. The last line-up of the group (up 'til 1971) was: Rudy, Leo, Jan Vennik (sax, flute & organ, ex-Jayjays, later to Rob Hoeke & Ekseption), Han Cooper (organ, bass & vocals, ex-Bobby Green Selection, later with Leo, to Fisher & Friends) and Bobby Green (drums, ex-Bobby Green Selection, also to Fisher & Friends).

After the breakup, Rudy Bennett, Bobby Green & Gerard Romeyn all released solo singles.

01. (For) Another Man (A Side Havoc SH 108) (5-1965)
02. I've Waited So Long (B Side Havoc SH 108) (5-1965)
03. You Bother Me (A Side Havoc SH 107) (5-1965)
04. Be The Woman I Need (from INTRODUCTION THE THE MOTIONS - Havoc HJH 2) (1965)
05. Love Won't Stop (A Side Havoc SH 110) (8-1965)
06. Who'll Save My Soul (from INTRODUCTION THE THE MOTIONS - Havoc HJH 2) (1965)
07. Take Your Time (from INTRODUCTION THE THE MOTIONS - Havoc HJH 2) (1965)
08. Everything That's Mine (A Side Havoc SH 114) (2-1966)
09. There's No Place To Hide (B Side Havoc SH 114) (2-1966)
10. Late Last Night (from THEIR OWN WAY - Havoc IHLP 2) (1966)
11. Too Late To Be Sorry (from THEIR OWN WAY - Havoc IHLP 2) (1966)
12. You Can't Fight It (from THEIR OWN WAY - Havoc IHLP 2) (1966)
13. You've Hurt Yourself (from THEIR OWN WAY - Havoc IHLP 2) (1966)
14. My Babe (from THEIR OWN WAY - Havoc IHLP 2) (1966)
15. Sittin' On The Top Of The Roof (from THEIR OWN WAY - Havoc IHLP 2) (1966)
16. Hard Time Blues (French EP Vogue INT 18097) (5-1966)
17. I'm Wondering (unreleased track) (11-1966)
18. Ain't That Nice (unreleased track) (11-1966)
19. Love Is Good, Love Is Real (from SONGBOOK - Teenbeat APLP 101) (1967)
20. Suzie Baby (B Side Havoc SH 130) (8-1967) [0:02:07.72]
21. Tonight Will Be Stoned (A Side Havoc SH 139) (5-1967)
22. Ramblin' Rose (from SONGBOOK - Teenbeat APLP 101) (1967)
23. Wonderful Impressions (A Side Havoc SH 137) (8-1967
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...