Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Fairport Convention -1968-69 BBC radio Sessions (Heyday)

HEYDAY is a set of 1968 BBC radio performances by Fairport Convention. The tracks were recorded after Sandy Denny had joined, but prior to the band's tragic road accident that claimed the life of drummer Martin Lamble and shook the spirit of the band. These dozen songs show the band's fascination with American music and songwriters (a fact that was also quite evident on their self-titled debut).

With two formidable front-line singers, Denny and Ian Matthews, the band's versions of songs by Bob Dylan, Leonard Cohen, Joni Mitchell, Gene Clark, Johnny Cash, the Everly Brothers and others are given strong and believable treatments. An early original by Richard Thompson shows him to still be under the spell of his record collection, but his guitar playing is already uniquely his own, a remarkable accomplishment for one not yet twenty years old. These songs are rich with the joy of a band glad to be playing together and in love with their material.

Features the classic Fairport Convention line-up in session for John Peel's Top Gear program on BBC Radio 1 in 1968 & 1969. Members included Richard Thompson, the late Sandy Denny, Iain Matthews, Ashley Hutchings, Dave Swarbrick and Simon Nicol........"

1. Close the Door Lightly When You Go
2. I Don't Know Where I Stand
3. Some Sweet Day
4. Reno, Nevada
5. Suzanne
6. If It Feels So Good, You Know It Can't Be Wrong
7. I Still Miss Someone
8. Bird on a Wire
9. Gone, Gone, Gone
10. Tried So Hard
11. Shattering Live Experience
12. Percy's Song
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...