Friday, November 27, 2009

The Easybeats - The Shame Just Drained (1977)


from Jancy

For a group that really only scored one major international hit, the Easybeats' songwriting team -- Harry Vanda and George Young -- were very busy bees indeed in the studio in the late '60s. All but one of the songs on this 15-track compilation are taken from sessions between late 1966 and late 1968 that were unreleased at the time; five come from an album that was canned at the last minute. Apparently there were about 20 more outtakes where that came from. Don't pay any mind to the ridiculous claim in the sleeve note that "had all the material been released in the sequence (and quantity) it was created, then the Easybeats' impact might have been far more notable and we might today be comparing their albums alongside Rubber Soul, Aftermath, and other rock milestones." This is cheery late-'60s pop with mild psychedelic influences, echoing the Small Faces, the Turtles, and especially the Kinks. The cheeriness, in fact, verges on childish and sickly sweet in places. It's not bad. In fact, it's occasionally pretty good; it's just not incredibly significant. By far the best track is "Mr. Riley of Higginbottom & Clive," a bit of dry class satire that compares well with Ray Davies' vignettes from the same era

The Shame Just Drained is a compilation album by The Easybeats. The album was released on October 10, 1977. It was later reissued by Repertoire Records and included nine more tracks.

Track listing
  1. "Little Queenie" (Chuck Berry) - 2:41
  2. "Baby I'm a Comin'" (Harry Vanda, George Young, Stevie Wright) - 2:02
  3. "Lisa" (Vanda, Young) - 3:14
  4. "I'm on Fire" (Vanda, Young) - 2:22
  5. "Wait a Minute" (Vanda, Young) - 2:42
  6. "We'll Make It Together" (Vanda, Young) - 2:41
  7. "Peter" (Vanda, Young) - 3:02
  8. "Me and My Machine" (Vanda, Young) - 2:28
  9. "The Shame Just Drained" (Vanda, Young) - 2:43
  10. "Mr. Riley of Higginbottom & Clive" (Vanda, Young) - 2:31
  11. "Kelly" (Vanda, Young) - 3:17
  12. "Where Old Men Go" (Vanda, Young) - 2:33
  13. "Johnny No-One" (Vanda, Young) - 2:31
  14. "Amanda Storey" (Vanda, Young) - 2:48
  15. "Station on the Third Avenue" (Vanda, Young) - 2:58

Additional  tracks

  1. "Do You Have a Soul" (3rd Version]) - 3:07
  2. "Check the Bassline" - 2:59
  3. "Watch Me Burn" - 3:22
  4. "Where Did You Go Last Night" - 2:52
  5. "Heaven and Hell" - 2:43
  6. "Happy Is the Man" - 2:42
  7. "Land of Make Believe" - 3:16
  8. "Coke Jingle, No.1" - 1:05
  9. "Coke Ads #2 & 3" - 2:15


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...