Sunday, February 21, 2010

Aphrodite's Child - The Singles+ [2CD]




A Greek band of the late '60s and early '70s, Aphrodite's Child scored only one European hit, "Rain and Tears." Though it was a big one, the group became little more than a trivia answer after keyboardist Vangelis Papathanassiou dropped his surname and hit number one with the theme to Chariots of Fire in 1981. Aphrodite's Child also included drummer Lucas Sideras and vocalist Demis Roussos, who enjoyed some solo success himself as a pop vocalist. The band formed in Greece in the mid-'60s, and the title track from the second album was a hit throughout Europe. The 1971 album 666 was generally agreed to be the best, but it proved to be the last, though the single "Break" was also a hit in Europe.


"Plastics nevermore" / "The other people" (1968)
"Rain and tears" / "Don't try to catch a river" (1968) 
"End of the world" / "You always stand in my way" (1969)
"Valley of sadness" / "Mister Thomas" (1969)
"Lontano dagli occhi" / "Quando l'amore diventa poesia" (1969)
"I want to live" / "Magic Mirror" (1969) 
"Let me love, let me live" / "Marie Jolie" (1969) 
"It's five o'clock" / "Wake up" (1970) 
"Spring, summer, winter and fall" / "Air" (1970)
"Such a funny night" / "Annabella" (1970)
"Break" / "Babylon" (1972)

Aphrodite's Child - The Singles+

This import set from the BR imprint is essentially the same as Polygram International's Collection from 1995. The sequence of Singles is slightly altered, and it includes live versions of "End of the World" and "Lontano Dagli Occhi," as well as the studio track "Pathenon," but other than that the two releases are identical. Both offer the hit singles "Rain and Tears" and "Break," as well as a run through the group's Mediterranean take on psychedelia and highlights of 1972's high-concept 666 -- widely considered to be Aphrodite's Child's finest hour. ~ Johnny Loftus
2003 Double disc collection of singles and more from BR Music for the Greek prog-rock trio which spawned the solo artists Vangelis & Demis Roussos. 38 tracks & a full-color glossy booklet with track by track credits.



01. Rain and Tears
02. Don't Try to Catch a River
03. Plastics Nevermore
04. Other People
05. End of the World
06. You Always Stand in My Way
07. Valley of Sadness
08. Mister Thomas
09. Grass Is No Green
10. Shepherd and the Moon
11. Day of the Fool Listen
12. Quando l'Amore Diventa Poesia
13. Lontano Dagli Occhi
14. I Want to Live
15. Magic Mirror
16. Let Me Love, Let Me Live
17. Marie Jolie Listen
18. It's Five O'Clock
19. Funky Mary


01. Wake Up
02. Take Your Time
03. Annabella
04. Good Time So Fine
05. Such a Funny Night
06. Spring Summer Winter and Fall
07. Air
08. Break
09. Babylon
10. Four Horsemen
11. Lamb
12. Seventh Seal
13. Aegian Sea
14. Lament
15. Marching Beast
16. Hic et Nunc (Here and Now)
17. End of the World [Live]
18. Lontano Dagli Occhi [Live]
19. Pathenon

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...