Saturday, April 17, 2010

BEEFEATERS - Troels Vanvittige Parkering - DR Live Sessions (1967&1968) Denmark

Denmark, whilst not well known for its rock/blues groups, actually did have a number of really good bands. Alongside Midnight Sun, Gasolin', Ache, Culpeper's Orchid, Burnin' Red Ivanhoe and others, Beefeaters were one of their country's best outfits. They first started out as an early sixties beat outfit, later changing to a more bluesy/soul/psych style in 1966. Their initial line-up included Lars Kofoed and Jimmy Sardorff on guitars, Niels Mortensen on drums, Soren Seirup on bass and vocals, and Kurt Parking on on rhythm guitar. They were quite successful and were popular in the clubs, but they disbanded in 1964

Seirup and Sardoff reformed the band in 1965 with new members Erling Madsen on drums and Morten Kjaerumgard on organ Keith Volkersen on bass and Max Nhuthzhi on drums, and they released their debut album in 1966 and toured with outfits like The Kinks and the Pretty Things to support it. In November 1968, they supported bluesman Alexis Korner on a Danish tour and he contributed guitar on two tracks on their new album (our featured album). Thorup later left the band, teaming up with Korner in England to form New Church, C.C.S. and Snape. The Beefeater's albums are quite rare but now that they've been released on CD, it gives listeners outside of their home country the opportunity of finally hearing the magic of this great blues/rock outfit.
Troels Vanvittige Parkering - DR Live Sessions (1967 1968)

Danmarks 60's legends BEEFEATERS with their Denmark Radio recordings from '67 to '68. The title is "Troels' Vanvittige Parkering" (=The Crazy (car-) Park of Troels). The recordings have been done by Denmarks Radio in Frederikshavn and probably in Islev Cinema during 67-68. Denmark Radio doesn't not have the mastertapes, so some old casettetapes were cleaned up. This is BEEFEATERS with long and short takes, full of soul.

01 Crossroads

02 No title

03 Night train

04 Parchman farm

05 Now I know (Wonder what goes on in my mind)

06 Got alot to give

07 Serenade to a cuckoo

08 Troels vandvittige parkering

09 Summer scene

10 Let me down easy
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...