Friday, April 9, 2010

The Sixpentz - Summer Girl :The Complete Recordings

Probably better known as The Fun & Games, who hit with The Grooviest Girl In The World under Gary Zekely’s guidance, The Sixpentz/Six Pents were together from 1966-69, taking their cues from The Association and West Coast harmonies, as exemplified by Don’t Say You’re Sorry, Tinkle Talk and Please Come Home.

Their almost-breakthrough record was Summer Girl, which gave more than a nod to Ronny & The Daytonas’ Sandy hit and is a most satisfying summer vocal harmony song in its own right. Its influence was later replicated on Holding Me Back. Another stage in their name-changes was as The Fun & Games Commission, from whom comes Today- Tomorrow, with about enough “Aaaah”s and “Ba-ba-ba”s to satisfy any 60s soft rock fan.
This 18-track collection ends with two bonus cuts, as recorded by The Sixpentz’s final name incarnation, one of which is Zekely’s satisfying production of their version of Harry Nilsson’s One. It’s all very listenable fare, but not quite top division, or even on a par with their influences.

The Sixpentz Summer Girl: The Complete Recordings
Released 23/02/09. In the mid to late 1960 s, Houston, Texas was home to a fertile and under appreciated rock scene. This collective included such disparate artists such as The Red Crayola, Bubble Puppy, The Clique, Fever Tree, and The Sixpentz (originally known as The Six Pents).

1 Don't Say You're Sorry

2 Summer Girl

3 Please Come Home

4 Someone Must Have Lied

5 She Lied

6 Today, Tomorrow

7 Imitation Situation

8 Tinkle Talk

9 Holding Me Back

10 And It Hurts

11 Good To You

12 I Didn't Start Living

13 Your Girl Too

14 One

15 It Must Have Been The Wind

16 Please Come Home

17 Summer Girl [Alt. Version] - (alternate take)

18 Ride On Love (bonus track) - Fun & Games

Renowned for their lush harmony vocals and complex arrangements, The Sixpentz talents, sizable following, and diverse repertoire afforded them the opportunity to perform with some of the biggest acts of the sixties including The Lovin Spoonful, The Animals and Herman’s Hermits. Their electrifying live shows, along with their regional hit Summer Girl paved the way for the sextet s future glory via their 1969 national hit single The Grooviest Girl In The World, released under their later moniker, The Fun And Games. Summer Girl: The Complete Recordings collects all of the Sixpentz and Six Pents single releases, along with recordings they later cut as The Fun And Games and The Fun And Games Commission (yet another name they recorded under).
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...