Thursday, May 20, 2010

The Hollies - Live Hits (1977)

Collected from live recordings while the group was touring New Zealand in 1976, this set clearly illustrates how a British Invasion group survived the '70s by simply cranking out one great record after another. That the band could deliver the goods in person, including those trademarked three-part harmonies, is no small achievement in those pre-digital, pre-sampled times.

While the group stays Ôcurrent, with the tell-tale wah wah pedal and the crude synth lines, they're still unmistakably the Hollies, and as they blast through a set that includes everything from "Bus Stop," "Just One Look," and "Carrie Anne" to "Long Cool Woman (In a Black Dress)," "The Air That I Breathe," and "He Ain't Heavy...He's a Brother," one is struck by the sheer professionalism with which they pull this all off without tricks, illusions, or mirrors. If anyone asks if the Hollies could rock the joint out live, play this one for them. ~ Cub Koda, All Music Guide

1. The Hollies - I Canґt Let Go (2:53)

2. The Hollies - Just One Look (2:33)

3. The Hollies - I Canґt Tell The Bottom From (3:25)

4. The Hollies - Bus Stop (3:08)

5. The Hollies - Another Night (3:37)

6. The Hollies - 4th Of July, Asbury Park (4:02)

7. The Hollies - Star (3:17)

8. The Hollies - My Island (4:25)

9. The Hollies - Iґm Down (4:01)

10. The Hollies - Stop, Stop, Stop (2:48)

11. The Hollies - Long Cool Woman In A Black Dr (3:52)

12. The Hollies - Carrie-Anne (3:01)

13. The Hollies - The Air That I Breathe (4:01)

14. The Hollies - Too Young To Be Married (4:57)

15. The Hollies - He Ainґt Heavy, Heґs My Broth (4:23)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...