Sunday, June 6, 2010

Spirits & Worm - Spirits & Worm (1969)

Great Jefferson Airplane style band and Very rare album originally released in 1969 on A& original rock sound with powerful female vocals (Adrianne Maurici) and some fine fuzz guitar work...for fans of Jefferson Airplane.
The talents of five young people pesented here as the SPIRITS AND WORM have cause others to define their music as a 'fresh young sound - very colorful and full of rhythm - a happy sound.' Making that 'happy sound' are Adrianne Maurici (vocals), Tommy Parris (bass guitar, vocals), Carlos Hernandez (lead guitar), Artie Hicks Jr. (drums) and Alfred Scotti (guitar/vocals). And these young people have worked hard to achieve their own sound. We believe in the near future that the music industry and the public will take notice of this group and recognize them as one of the more exciting and talented groups yet to hit the airwaves. (liner notes by Bob Garcia).

1. You and I Together 2:47

2. Every Little Bit of Love 2:38

3. She 3:17

4. Fanny Firecracker 2:38

5. Sunny Please Hold Me 3:41

6. Spirits and Worm 2:58

7. All I Need Is a Little You 4:02

8. She's the One 3:03

9. You're Dynamite 3:11

10. She's So Goo 3:55

All songs written by C. Hernandez except *(Hernandez/Parris)

An original SP 4229 version is among the rarest and highly collectable albums around; a copy sold on Ebay for $682 recently. It's distribution was limited to the NYC area, and the "legend" goes that it was pulled from stores quickly because of rumor that the goat-and-tombstone cover art was satanic. The sound is similar to Jefferson Airplane and Santana.
Reissues: Limited vinyl reissue by Water Serpent and Sweet Herb labels. In 2001 S&W was reissued on vinyl and CD, with original cover art, by Akarma label of Italy.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...