Saturday, July 10, 2010

The Federals - Solist Tony Bolton (1965)

- Tony Bolton - Vocal
- Michael Bush - Bass
-Brian Hawkins- Guitars
- Frank Milne - Vocals, Trumpet
- Tony Selvidge (Kaye) - Keyboards
- Guy Shepard - Drums
Британская группа из Уотфорда выпустила на родине 6 синглов. Как им удалось записать альбом в социалистической Румынии до сих пор загадка. Известно, что в группе играл клавишник Тони Кэй - будущий участник знаменитых Yes. Всего на пластинке 11 известных композиций перепетых "Федералами" плюс единственная собственная песня Болтолна - Love, Love, Love. ~  Вадим Яловецкий

Born out of long forgotten band The Beatniks, Bolton & The Feds were another group who recorded for Parlophone Records though they appeared at The Town Hall minus contract as their first single "The Climb" did not appear until January 1964. 3 more Parlophone 45's followed, including a cover version of The Platters "Twilight Time" and their final release, 1965's "A Bucketfull Of Love" but they never threatened to trouble the charts with their particular brand of beat music. As the mid-60's beckoned, The Top Twenty effectively became a nursery for a number of musicians who later found fame and fortune elsewhere, a situation that was no doubt being repeated in venues & clubs the length and breadth of the country. Hiding within The Federals line-up was keyboard player Tony Kaye (real name Tony Selvidge.) He was a member of several bands during the 60's, amongst them Johnny Taylor's Star Combo and Jimmy Winston & His Reflections but later became an original member of Yes and appeared on their breakthrough album "The Yes Album" in 1970. Incidentally, Tony Bolton & The Federals were one of those bands incorrectly labelled under the "Comedy/Vocal/Instrumental" umbrella. Unless Bolton augmented his vocal performance with a stand-up routine, I think we can safely say that this piece of info is not strictly accurate. ~ Dave Edney

  romanian only 1960s orig. of UK band, slight hairlines on vinyl.

01. Rock And Roll Music

02. Oh! Pretty Woman

03. World Without Love

04. She Loves You

05. Always Something There

06. Love, Love, Love

07. Long Tall Sally

08. Applejack

09. Memphis-Tennessee

10. Will You Love Me Tomorrow

11. Please Please Me

12. What`d I Say
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...