Friday, October 29, 2010

DaveDavies - The Album That Never Was [UK Bonus Tracks]

Although he took a largely subordinate role to his brother Ray in the Kinks, Dave's fierce guitar work and hoarse but effective background (and occasional lead) vocals were key elements of the band's appeal. Dave also occasionally wrote songs for the Kinks that showed him to be a writer of considerable skill and wit, if not up to the same level as Ray. In the late '60s, Dave made some solo singles that met with critical success in Britain, although they were unknown in the U.S. "Death of a Clown" (also included on the Kinks' Something Else LP) made number three on the British charts in 1967, and the follow-up, "Susannah's Still Alive," also did fairly well. 

Dave began to consider making a solo album, but after a couple other solo singles flopped, he seemed to lose heart and abandoned his plans (some unreleased solo tracks from this period turned up on the obscure Kinks bootleg Good Luck Charm). In the 1980s, Dave finally began a solo career in earnest, releasing a series of mainstream rock albums and various collections of demos and outtakes that found little critical or commercial acclaim, before his work was neatly summarized on Unfinished Business: Dave Davies Kronikles 1963-1998. The hard-rocking Bug from 2002 was his first album of new material in nearly 20 years. Davies suffered a major stroke in 2004 and used composing and painting as therapy during the lengthy recovery period that followed. The new song "God in My Brain" was inspired by the stroke and appeared on the 2006 compilation Kinked. In 2007 Davies released his first full-length post-stroke studio album, Fractured Mindz, on the Koch label. 

DaveDavies - The Album That Never Was  [UK Bonus Tracks]
When Dave Davies racked up a couple British hits in 1967, rumors were rife that the Kinks' lead guitarist would cut a solo album of his own. He never did -- not in the '60s, anyway -- and The Album That Never Was is a facsimile of what might have been, packaging some ultrarare solo singles of the time with tracks that Davies wrote and sang on some of the Kinks' late-'60s records. They show him to be a fine, underappreciated singer and songwriter in a Dylanesque folk-rock mode. [The 1994 Castle re-release added eight bonus tracks, nearly doubling the length of the original.]

1. Dave Davies - Death Of A Clown (3:05)
2. Dave Davies - Love Me Till The Sun Shines (3:16)
3. Dave Davies - Susannah's Still Alive (2:25)
4. Dave Davies - Funny Face (2:18)
5. Dave Davies - Lincoln County (3:12)
6. Dave Davies - There Is No Life Without Love (2:04)
7. Dave Davies - Hold My Hand (3:22)
8. Dave Davies - Creepin' Jean (3:17)
9. Dave Davies - Mindless Child Of Motherhood (3:15)
10. Dave Davies - This Man He Weeps Tonight (2:43)
11. Dave Davies - Beautiful Delilah (2:09)
12. Dave Davies - You're Lookin' Fine (2:47)
13. Dave Davies - Party Line (2:36)
14. Dave Davies - Wait Till The Summer Comes Along (2:10)
15. Dave Davies - Strangers (3:20)
16. Dave Davies - I'm Not Like Everybody Else (3:29)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...