Saturday, January 14, 2012

The Blue Things - The Blue Things Story (1993)

Along with the Remainsthe Blue Things are serious contenders for the title of the Great Lost Mid-'60s American Band. The Kansas group was extremely popular in the Midwest and Texas, but remained unknown on a national level, despite a deal with RCA. Piloted by the songwriting of singer and guitarist Val Stecklein, the group often sounded like a cross between the Byrds and the Beau Brummels with their melodic, energetic, guitar-oriented folk-rock and haunting harmonies. The group's sole album (Listen & See, 1966) and several singles chart a rapid growth from British Invasion-like material with a heavy Searchers and Buddy Holly influence to full-blown psychedelic efforts with careening guitars, organ, and backward effects. Quite innovative for the time, these 1966 psychedelic singles met with no more than regional success. The group's impetus was derailed by the departure of Stecklein at the end of 1966, although they struggled on for a bit. Stecklein went to California and recorded a disappointing MOR folk album for Dot in the late '60s that reprised some of his Blue Things songs.

1. Baby My Heart
2. Ain't That Loving You Baby
3. Since You Broke My Heart
4. Pennies
5. Silver and Gold
6. So You Say
7. Love's Made a Fool of You
8. Pretty Things-Oh!
9. It Ain't No Big Thing
10. You Can't Say We Never Tried
11. High Life
12. Now's the Time
13. The Girl from the North Country
14. Doll House
15. The Man on the Street
16. La Do Da Da
17. The Orange Rooftops of Your Mind
18. One Hour Cleaners
19. You Can Live in Our Tree
20. Take Seven
21. The Coney Island of Your Mind
22. Twist and Shout

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...