Thursday, September 13, 2012

VA - The Ikon Records Story (1964-1966)

VA - The Ikon Records Story: America's #1 Unsung Garage Label 1964-1966

(2-CD set) The Ikon Records Story is another lavish double disc set, this time focused on one of the most obscure yet enigmatic independent labels of the mid-1960s: Sacramento's Ikon Records. Ikon Enterprises was a studio and production set-up based in California's capital that existed for just a brief few years between 1963 and 1966, yet was ground zero for every teenaged aggregation that could convince their parents to fork over the cash needed with which to enshrine their progeny's adolescent warblings on a shiny vinyl 45s. These cool, cryptic items, issued on the studio's custom label, are impossibly rare discs that feature pure, unadulterated teenaged mid-1960s rock'n'roll in its varying forms, whether they be surf, R&B, instrumental, folk-rock, raw garage, Brit-Inv, or spy-themed novelty. Several Ikon singles are coveted items within the rarified echelons of garage-collectordom: those by Madd, Inc, the Knightsmen, Prophets, Shondells and others are singles that regularly fetch big bucks on the very few occasions they are ever offered for sale. The Ikon Records Story has been in the works for many years, but the recent serendipitous discovery of all the labels cutting masters for Ikon releases now enables the Frantic team to deliver up an unprecedented 60 tracks of primo material, virtually all reissued for the first time, and thus unlike most archival collections, the sound quality is second to none. Additionally, various band members have opened their files to provide unreleased material, as well as fill in the story behind this mysterious imprint. The 28-page full color booklet is jammed to the gills with photos and memorabilia, in addition to a lengthy note from top garage expert Alec Palao examining the Ikon saga in tremendous detail.

Disc: 1
1. Intro - Ikon
2. I'll Be The One - Madd, Inc.
3. Something's Got A Hold Of Me - Shondells
4. Every Night I Dream A Little - Eirik Wangberg
5. Surf Express - Nervous Kats
6. She's Gone Away - Bristols
7. Love, You Funny Thing - Mergers
8. Countdown - Avanti's
9. Truck - Bobbies
10. Leave Me Alone - Yo Yoz
11. Fever - Knightsmen
12. My Girl - The Styx
13. St. James Infirmary - Kee-Notes
14. Quirk - R.C. & The Tambourines
15. I Cried Last Night - Shondells
16. Surfer's Beach - Cautions
17. Come Running To Me - John Rosasco Quartet
18. High Heel Sneakers - Townsmen
19. There She Goes - Moss & The Rocks
20. Simba - Nervous Kats
21. It's All Over Now - Prophets
22. Smokestack Lightning - Parish Hall Blues
23. Pretty Girls - Versatiles
24. Gloria - Unknown Group
25. Sorry About That - Russ Olson
26. I Love You So - Denny & Kenny Duo
27. Batman - Madd, Inc.
28. Too Much - Avanti's
29. Intro-Surf Jam - Marauders
30. Carol - Marauders
Disc: 2
1. Daddy Was A Rolling Stone - Knightsmen
2. Meet My Little Sweety - Denny & Kenny Duo
3. You Wonder Why - Prophets
4. Sooperspy - Madd, Inc.
5. Searching - Unknown Group
6. Chong - Nervous Kats
7. I Can Never Say - Parish Hall Blues Quintet
8. It's True - Shondells
9. You Woman - Eirik Wangberg
10. Leaving Me - Townsmen
11. The Shift - John Rosasco Quartet
12. I'm Coming Home - Sons Of Sound
13. Groovin' - Cautions
14. Stay With Me - Yo Yoz
15. What's Wrong With Me - Avanti's
16. The Fire Is Gone - Sel-Sync
17. Tell Her That You Love Her - Beau Jesse
18. Please Don't Tell Me No - Kee-Notes
19. Sorry About That - Eirik & The Secret Agents
20. What Have I Done - Townsmen
21. When You Ask About Love - Fabulous Futuras
22. Happiness - Dirk Hamilton
23. Orangutang - Bobbies
24. I'll Be On My Way - Mergers
25. You Lose Girl - Mymes
26. Please Come Back - Moss & The Rocks
27. Stay Away - The Styx
28. Batman A Go Go - Madd, Inc.
29. Do It To Deff - Checkmates Ltd.
30. Outro - Ikon
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...