Saturday, March 16, 2013

The Kinks - You Really Got Me

The Kinks' debut album found them under the spell of the same bluesy American rock & roll that fueled both the Merseybeat bands as well as their grittier counterparts (most notably the Rolling Stones). Even with the pair of tried and true Chuck Berry numbers, Ray Davies' title song and a handful of other notables announced the emergence of a confident and original voice. His "Stop Your Sobbing" is a true gem. "Just Can't Go To Sleep," "I Took My Baby Home," and "You Do Something To Me"  find Davies crafting top flight Beatle-pop. The band itself is a tough little rhythm machine, with guitarist Dave Davies' fist-sized chords churning away in tandem with the drums and bass. Though Ray Davies went on to find a broader base as a songwriter, the Kinks' first several albums are still as startling and convincing as they were decades ago.

The Kinks - You Really Got Me [Reprise Stereo Vinyl] 
Label: Reprise Records – RS-6143
Format: Vinyl, LP, Stereo, Album 
Country: US

A1 Beautiful Delilah
A2 So Mystifying
A3 Just Can't Go To Sleep
A4 Long Tall Shorty
A5 You Really Got Me

B1 Cadillac
B2 Bald Headed Woman (Traditional)
B3 To Much Monkey Business
B4 I've Been Driving On Bald Mountain (Traditional)
B5 Stop Your Sobbing
B6 Got Love If You Want It

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...