Monday, April 14, 2014

The Symbols - Best Part Of

 Formed in the early 1960s prior to the Beat Boom explosion, The Symbols honed their craft in the back waters of East London earning a reputation as one of the region's best live draws. With near-constant gigging and a knack for incorporating the catchiest of US hits within their set, the boys - John Milton (vocals), Mick Clarke (bass guitar), Shaun Corrigan (lead guitar) and Clive Graham (drums - later Chas Wade) - caught the attention of the newly-formed President label, which swiftly led to their covering The Happenings' US smash See You In September in August 1966.

Their 4th single introduced them to the UK charts, a version of the Four Seasons' earlier US hit, Bye Bye Baby and in so doing inadvertently laid down the blueprint for what would become the Bay City Rollers' No.1 some 8 years later. (The Best Part Of) Breaking Up heralded their only LP release and after releasing just one more single in 1968, the band's brief tenure with President was over.

This CD includes all of their President cuts plus previously unissued bonus tracks including the recently-discovered Four Seasons Medley plus the band's original demo of Silence Is Golden, later a chart-topper for The Tremeloes. This long-awaited reissue is required listening for all devotees of Harmony Pop.

 THE PRESIDENT RECORDINGS 1966-68 plus bonus tracks

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...