Saturday, November 29, 2008

The Robbs - The Robbs (1967)

Mp3 \50 Mb

by Bryan Thomas
The Robbs — oldest brother Dee Robb (guitar, vocals), Joe Robb (guitar, vocals), and youngest brother Bruce Robb (keyboards, vocals) — began their lengthy careers in their hometown of Oconomowoc, WI (near Milwaukee) as a teen-center pop group calling themselves Dee Robb & the Robbins. As Robby & the Robins, they recorded "Surfer's Life" for the Todd label, which has since appeared on numerous surf compilations. During a summer tour, their guitarist was facing the draft board, so the band had to shuffle the lineup and bring in their cousin, Craig Robb (real name Craig Krampf as a replacement on drums. The band then changed names to the Robbs and soldiered on, playing soft rock ... Read More...
David Donaldson (aka Dee Robb) guitar/vocalsRobert Donaldson (aka Bruce Robb) organGeorge Donaldson (aka Joe Robb) guitarCraig Krampf (aka Craig Robb) drums
bass duties was usually done by session players from Hollywood notably Larry Knetchel or Joe Osborn
1. Violets of Dawn 2. Race With the Wind 3. Cynthia Loves 4. Next Time You See Me 5. Girls, Girls 6. Bittersweet 7. See Jane Run 8. In a Funny Sort of Way 9. Rapid Transit 10. Jolly Miller
Although the Robbs quartet was founded by three siblings, none of them was named Robb. They were actually David Donaldson, Robert Donaldson, and George Donaldson. Prior to garnering the attention of teen music mogul Dick Clark, the trio added percussionist Craig Krampf. Under Clark's supervision, the Robbs were featured in a few high-profile television appearances and secured a short-lived deal with Mercury Records.This initially yielded a handful of 45s in 1966, which were slightly augmented and issued as their self-titled (and only) long-player. The Robbs' sound centered around lighter affairs such as the nimble "Cynthia Loves" and tightly packed Hollies-esque vocal harmonies on "Next Time You See Me." Similarly, "Girls, Girls" is a slice of carefree sunshine pop, hinting at the Association and the Turtles, while the pensive "Rapid Transit" is reminiscent of the Left Banke and the Strawberry Alarm Clock's more Baroque approach. The Robbs also show off a penchant for folk-rock on a superior reading of Eric Andersen's "Violets of Dawn," the original composition "Race With the Wind," and an adaptation of "Jolly Miller," the latter adopting a garage feel thanks to the propulsive bassline and omnipresent timekeeping tambourine. The album's initial release barely made it into the Top 200, which may have had something to do with the fact that all but two of the selections had already been available as 7" singles. [In 2004, Collectors' Choice Music re-released The Robbs on CD after several decades relegated to cutout bins and online auctions.]
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...