Tuesday, June 23, 2009

The Clique - Complete Recordings (1964\1965) and others Clique

Mp3\34Mb (vinil rip)
The Clique - Complete Recordings (19641965) 

The Clique were a five-piece band about which little is known (John Kitch played rhythm, and Adrian Stambach handled the bass), except that they had a tough sound reminiscent of the Pretty Things and cut two singles for Pye in the mid-1960's under producer Larry Page. They had a crude, bluesy sound, similar to The Boys but rougher, and only lacked some of the energy projected by acts like the Pretties and the Rolling Stones at their respective bests—and their debut single "She Ain't No Good" was still rather unforgettable for its proto-punk sensibilities. Their second single, "We Didn't Kiss, Didn't Love, But Now We Do," was even more bluesy as well as very experimental in structure. Along with their privately pressed four-song demo, it's a choice piece of '60s vinyl among collectors, but despite this after the fact adoration, the Clique never caught on in their own time. With a few breaks, they might've been as big as producer Larry Page's great enduring success, the Troggs. 
1. She Ain't No Good 
2. Ooh Poo Pah Doo 
3. Pretty Thing 
4. One Kinda Favour 
5. Leaving Here 
6. She Ain't No Good 
7. Time, Time, Time 
8. We Didn't Kiss, We Didn't Love,
9. You've Been Unfair 
10. I Left My Heart

Thanks In the Crowd

and other
The Clique  - The Clique (1969)


The Clique had a medium hit in late 1969 with "Sugar on Sunday," a cover of a song from Tommy James' Crimson and Clover album, and a smaller hit with "I'll Hold Out My Hand," a song from their sole album. Emphasizing harmonies and carefully arranged light pop-rock tunes with horns, they were part of the scene that's now known as L.A. sunshine pop, except that they fell closer to bubblegum than some other acts in the genre. Like several such acts of the time, they were less a self-contained group than a vehicle for producer/songwriter Gary Zekley, who co-wrote much of their material with Mitchell Bottler and used session musicians on most of their tracks. If other such singer/producers in California at the time (like ... Read More...

Track list;
01 - Sugar On Sunday. 3:10
02 - My Darkest Hour. 2:45
03 - Holiday. 3:09
04 - Hallelujah!. 2:23
05 - I'll Hold Out My Hand. 2:37
06 - Judy, Judy, Judy. 2:32
07 - Little Miss Lucy. 2:21
08 - Soul Mates. 2:14
09 - (There Ain't) No Such Thing As Love. 2:29
10 - Superman. 2:33
11 - Shadow Of Your Love. 2:57
12 - Sparkle And Shine. 2:32
13 - I'm Alive. 1:59
14 - Memphis. 3:34
15 - Southbound Wind. 2:32
16 - Superman [Single Version]. 2:36
17 - Shadow Of Your Love [Single Version]. 2:48

The sole album by the Clique is in reality the last full album cult hero Gary Zekley would produce. (Though the Austin-based band, also renowned in garage-psych circles for the first known cover of a Roky Erickson song, had recorded several previous singles, they did not play on the album; only singer Randy Shaw appears, with backing vocalists and musicians pulled from Zekley's usual stable of L.A. session pros.) Although the album spawned a Top 40 hit in the Tommy James-penned "Sugar on Sunday" and is best known for containing the original "Superman," an underground garage rock classic given a new commercial life when R.E.M. covered it on Lifes Rich Pageant, it's not really Zekley's best work. By 1969, Zekley's brand of sunshine pop was out of commercial favor, and too much of The Clique is taken up with blatant copies of the current AM chart favorites. "Hallelujah!" is a blatant Blood, Sweat & Tears rip-off, and "Judy Judy Judy" is pure Three Dog Night (with the "Sock it to me!" chorus shamelessly added to tie into Laugh-In star Judy Carne's popularity). For all the shameless hucksterism, though, Zekley still manages a few gems, particularly the Tommy James-like "Little Miss Lucy" and the hyper-dramatic "My Darkest Hour." (The cover of the Bee Gees' "Holiday" is nice, too, though it adds little to the original.) And, true, "Superman" deserves every bit of its acclaim; it's by far the best song on the album. The Clique is perfectly listenable and occasionally terrific, but this is not Zekley at the peak of his powers; try the Yellow Balloon's self-titled disc or the Fun and Games' Elephant Candy for that. The Varese Sarabande reissue adds seven tracks from demos and singles, including two songs produced by Tommy James and featuring the Shondells as Shaw's backing group.

and The Clique - Early Days EP 


Despite releasing only one full-length during their existence, the Clique garnered a sizeable following in the mid-1980s for their earnest mod stylings.

Somewhere between the demise of The Prisoners and the heyday of Acid Jazz emerged The Clique, a band who managed to both breathe life into the international Mod scene just as they were setting the stage to make it difficult again by influencing a number of 3rd rate imitators. Of course, it would then take at least another 5 years following The Cliques own split to rid ourselves of the majority of these bands.
01 Ground Ginger 02 Crying Day 03 Leaving Here 04 Organ Themes  05 Te-Ni-Nee-Ni-Nu


Compare !!!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...