Sunday, August 30, 2009

Light of Darkness - Light of Darkness (1970)


Mike Reoch (bass, flute, piano, harmonica)
Byron Grant (guitars, fiddle)
John Latimer (vocals, piano, organ, percussion)
Manfred Bebert (drums)
The little-known Scottish band Light of Darkness consisted of Mike Reoch (bass, flute, piano, harmonica), Byron Grant (guitars, fiddle), John Latimer (vocals, piano, organ, percussion), and German drummer Manfred Bebert. They were based in Hamburg, Germany, and their only record was released by the German label Phillips in 1970. This self-titled debut album is in a kind-of progressive blues-rock style, highlighted by Latimer's odd voice and an energetic cover of Tony Joe White's "Soul Francisco." However, critics at that time dismissed the record as being directionless; the record-buying public ignored the LP and after a couple of concerts, Light of Darkness disbanded. Today, their only recording has become a minor cult classic and a collector's item. Unfortunately, the bandmembers disappeared and never recorded again. Before Light of Darkness, both Reoch and Grant had been in a band called Mike Reoch and the Tremors (together with Dennis Morrison and Don Stuart), and released an album called "Internationale Evergreens" on Elite Special in the 1960s. ~ Chris Genzel, All Music Guide
01. Movin' Along 04:16
02. Love In Your Heart 05:22
03. Ain't No Place Where I Belong 05:03
04. Soul Francisco 09:59
05. Freedom Fight 06:43
06. Time 04:17
07. Down 'N' Out 08:52
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...