Saturday, May 3, 2014

Pussycats-The Pussycats Story[65-67]Norway

The Pussycats were a Norwegian rock band from Tromso/Norway.They started as The Arctic in spring 1964.They headed to Stockholm/Sweden to pursue a professional career and it was there where they met the businessman Sten Ekroth,who became their manager.Ekroth's idea was to make the band as big as the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and it was him who came out with the name "Pussycats".Their first single "Ebb Tide/Cadillac" sold nearly 25,000 copies.Their follow-up "Gonna Send You Back To Georgia/Donna" did not sell nearly as much,but at least it was not a week without the Pussycats was featured in the press.Their career was marked by scandal stories,often arranged by their manager.Their debut-album Pssst! Pssst! was hailed as a masterpiece in the press,and from a historical perspective,the LP is considered to be a milestone.No other Norwegian artists had until 1966 been able to make a rock LP of such convincing quality,both in terms of sound, performance and song material.The album was also one of the '60s greatest successes in Norway and stayed ten weeks on top of the charts,which was a Norwegian record.During a publicity tour in the summer of 1966,the Pussycats' second LP was recorded in Hamburg.Was a bold mix of catchy pop songs and more experimental tunes and received ovations in the press and sold well again."Vanya Maria/Death Is Coming" was their last release as The Pussycats and perhaps their only record with hints of Psychedelia.Another 45 "Sjoreisa/Mors Minner" came out under the pseudonym Sailors but didn't make much impression.Soon after the band quit but in 1971 Trond Graff and Sverre Kjelsberg reformed the group with new members.Their only output was the album "Touch Wood" in 1973 which moves towards Progressive and Jazz.

The Pussycats Story (PolyGram 847502-2/1990) includes all their singles and the best tracks of their two albums.

1.Ebb Tide
4.Gonna Send You Back To Georgia
5.Boom Boom
8.Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
9.The Last Time
10.Just A Little Teardrop
11.Let Me Stay With You
12.Purdy Patsy
13.Baby Baby
14.Don't Love Me
15.Love Me Tonight
16.Why Have We To Wait
18.They Say...
20.I'm Going Home
21.The Craftsman
22.True True Lovin'
24.A Night Of Life
26.Call Me
27.Vanja Maria
28.Death Is Coming

Tracks 5 to 6,8 to 9,26 and 27 are in mono.
Tracks 1 to 4 are released in stereo for the first time.
Tracks 7 to 9 and 26 are previously unreleased.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...